University of Jordan


Acronym: UJ

The University of Jordan was established in the capital city of Amman in 1962 as a public university and is the country’s oldest 4-year institution of higher education. It has evolved into a comprehensive university with a second branch in Aqaba, 25 faculties, 2 deanships, and 16 centres. UJ has about 1,650 full-time faculty members educating 37,000 students, of whom 10% are postgraduate. It has become a magnet for international students who number about 3500 coming from more than 60 countries. UJ offers 90 bachelors, 111 master’s and higher specialization programs in medicine and dentistry, and 33 doctoral programs. UJ seeks to adopt and maintain the highest educational and administrative standards and procedures. It has come a long way in adapting to the internationally accepted best practices in terms of credit transfer and recognition, quality assurance, facilitation of mobility of students and staff, and development of joint programs.